

PRESS RELEASE FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Contact: Maria Aselage, HearSay Communications (843) 513-7605 ~ maria@hearsaycommunications.com

The Charleston County Bar Association Holds its Annual Meeting and Installation of Officers

CHARLESTON, SC (February 27, 2015) – Members of the Charleston County Bar Association (CCBA) gathered at the Francis Marion Hotel on Thursday, February 26 for their annual meeting. During the gathering, the new officers and members of the Executive Committee were installed. Additionally, the Bar recognized those attorneys who have served in the legal profession for more than 50 years, and eulogized those members of the Bar who died during the past year. Those memorialized include: Donald Barkowitz, H. Stanley Feldman, Andrew David Grimes, J. Heyward Harvey and the Honorable Klyde Robinson.

James D. Myrick, partner at Womble Carlyle Sandridge & Rice LLP, will serve as CCBA president during the upcoming year and gave the keynote address. He is a graduate of the University of South Carolina Law School and is a veteran litigator with experience in business litigation, land use, personal injury, products liability, and environmental disputes. During his tenure Myrick intends to promote the CCBA, and to improve communication among its growing 2,000+ members and with the public. As part of those efforts, the CCBA will launch a new, interactive website in May; continue making quality legal education courses available for lawyers; and provide mentoring and networking opportunities to newer attorneys. Myrick also plans to preserve the unique and enviable collegiality among CCBA members. "This isn't just a feel-good sentiment. Instead, these relationships make us more effective in crafting solutions to the problems experienced by our clients. This collegiality, bigger than mere civility, is a precious asset to be preserved, even as our membership numbers grow," said Myrick.

-- more --

Charleston County Bar Association P.O. Box 211326 Charleston, SC 29413 CCBA Holds its Annual Meeting February 27, 2015 Page 2

The incoming officers and members of the Executive Committee for 2015-2016 are:

<u>Officers</u> President – James D. Myrick, Womble Carlyle Sandridge & Rice LLP President-Elect – Brian C. Duffy, Duffy & Young, LLC Secretary/Treasurer – A. Peter Shahid Jr., Shahid Law Office, LLC Immediate Past President – Natalie Parker Bluestein, Bluestein & Douglas, LLC

Executive Committee

Ryan Bluestein - Bluestein, Johnson & Burke, LLC Rhett Dunaway - Charleston County Public Defender's Office Michèle Patrão Forsythe – Query Sautter Forsythe, LLC Deborah Gammons – Distinguished Visiting Professor and Director of the Office of Diversity, Charleston School of Law Robert Hawk – Carlock Copeland and Stair, LLP Kevin Holmes – Steinberg Law Firm, LLP Sean D. Houseal – Womble Carlyle Sandridge & Rice LLP Russell "Britt" Kelly – Rosen Hagood Theodore Manos – Robertson Hollingsworth & Flynn, LLC Richard Unger – Parker Poe Adams & Bernstein, LLP

###

About the Charleston County Bar Association

The Charleston County Bar Association is a nonprofit organization committed to promoting ethics and education within Charleston County's legal community as well as assisting the public through outreach programs and service projects. It consists of more than 2,000 members.